Danville HS 2nd at State Speech Tournament
Danville HS 2nd at State Speech Tournament
Posted on 03/18/2015
This is the image for the news article titled Danville HS 2nd at State Speech Tournament

:  Danville High School placed second at the Kentucky High School Speech League’s State Speech Tournament held Friday and Saturday (March 13-14) at the University of Kentucky.   Rowan County took the state title for a third straight year and was also named the winner of the Sustained Excellence Award for success over time.  Danville placed second, followed by Boone County, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Henry Clay, LaRue County, Harrison County, Scott, Paducah Tilghman, and East Jessamine in the top ten Speech schools.   


Twenty-six DHS entries advanced through three preliminary rounds to the Semifinals, or top eighteen contestants, in thirteen events.  Eight entries advanced on into the state Finals.  Zane Arnold and Matt Ballard were named State Champions in Improvisational Duo, and seven more entries won top prizes:  McCallum Morley, fourth in Broadcasting; Lydia Graham, sixth in Humorous Interpretation and sixth in Program Oral Interpretation; Austin Barringer, second in Poetry; Hannah Draut, third in Program Oral Interpretation; Laurel Payne, second in Prose; Grace Sheene, fourth in Prose.   Advancing to Semifinals for the Speaking Admirals were Tanisha Bruce and Grace Sheene (Declamation); Austin Barringer and Hannah Draut and Laurel Payne (Dramatic Interpretation); Sue Cook and Lydia Graham plus Dylan Godbey and Laurel Payne (Duo Interpretation); Mary-Scott Bugg and Sue Cook (Extemporaneous Speaking); Greg Goldie (Impromptu Speaking); Briona Burnett and Dylan Godbey plus Elizabeth Joiner and Taylor Rankin (Improvisational Duo); Austin Barringer and Hannah Draut (Oratory); Malik Robinson and Grace Sheene (Poetry); Zane Arnold (Program Oral Interpretation); Levi Daugherty (Storytelling). 


Senior Laurel Payne was awarded the Blyton Book Award at the contest.  This honor, given to one senior division student each year, is named in honor of longtime University of Kentucky Debate Coach and Kentucky High School Speech League director Gifford Blyton.  It recognizes a student  who has competed at KHSSL for at least two years, proved to be superior in more than one KHSSL event, and who has promoted speech, drama, and/or debate activities within his/her school, community, and state.


At the KHSSL State Debate Tournament March 12-13, DHS placed six entries into the Super Session of Congressional Debate, giving DHS one fourth of the entries in the chamber, more than any other school at the tournament.  Sue Cook placed second overall in the contest with Mary-Scott Bugg fifth.  Zane Arnold, Austin Barringer, Greg Goldie, and Hibah Siddiqui also advanced to the Super Session from the three preliminary rounds.  DHS placed ninth overall in Debate despite entering only one of the six events.  Lexington Henry Clay took first in Debate followed by DuPont Manual and Paul Laurence Dunbar.